Physics and Astronomy

CWSEI Dept. Director: Joss Ives, Georg Rieger (emeritus), Doug Bonn (emeritus), Georg Rieger (emeritus), Mona Berciu (emeritus)
STLFs (all emeritus): Electra Eleftheriadou, Linda Strubbe, Jared Stang, James Day, Jim Carolan, Louis Deslauriers, Ido Roll, Peter Newbury, Cynthia Heiner
Faculty: D. Bonn, J. Folk, B. Gladman, J. Iqbal, D. Jones, J. Ives, A. Kotlicki, K. Madison, J. Matthews, M. Pavan, H. Richer, I. Stairs, M. Van Raamsdonk, S. Reinsberg, G. Rieger, L. Van Waerbeke, C. Waltham, C. Wieman, J. Zibin, S. Burke, D. Witt, V. Sossi, J. Roettler, J. Charbonneau, S. Bates, J.Young, D. Bryman, I. Affleck, V. Hinkov
Students: J. Bale, D. Fujimoto, F. Moosvi
Involved in the past: E. Altiere, S. Berkman, N. Holmes, S. Martinuk, D. Mazur, B. Ramshaw, E. Schelew, M. Sitwell, J. Stang (now an STLF), S. Vafaei, C. Veenstra, T. Vernstrom, M. Warren, R. Wong


Physics & Astronomy received seed funding in 2007 and began their SEI efforts in the Fall of that year. The department moved to full funding starting in 2008.

A new phase began in 2014 – the Harris Project – an extension of CWSEI that runs from 2014 to 2017. In addition to continuing course transformations and faculty support, this phase includes deliberate effort toward effective transfer of pedagogies to new instructors using a co-teaching (paired teaching) model. This project is funded by John and Deb Harris, the UBC Faculty of Science, and the Physics & Astronomy Department.

More details on the different aspects of the program are given in the Activities section and sub-sections.